• Translate    
  • Quick links     
Our Mission is to inspire and prepare all students to realize their potential and enhance our global community.


110 Beechwood Road
West Hartford, CT 06107
Phone: 860-231-5000
Fax: 860-521-6699

Julio Duarte, Principal 

English Language Arts

The West Hartford English curriculum is comprised of full-year freshman and sophomore courses plus a variety of full-year and semester electives for juniors and seniors. While courses vary in content, focus, and level of difficulty, these skills - literature and language study, writing, and critical thinking - receive careful attention in every course. In addition to helping students develop interest and proficiency in these areas, English teachers provide students with extended and individual assistance through the teacher-student conferences, portfolio work, and state and SAT test preparation.     

After completing the required English 9 and English 10 courses, students choose among the elective offerings for a program suitable to their preparation for college or career. To meet district and state requirements, all students must earn eight semester English credits (four credits). Three of those credits must be earned in any full-year literature-based courses. All English courses have a summer reading requirement.

Department & Staff


English Tom Paleologopoulos Dept Supervisor 5053 tom_paleologopoulos@whps.org
English Daria Caruso Teacher 6253 daria_carusocondon@whps.org
English Natalie Leake Teacher   6211 natalie_leake@whps.org
English Emily Genser Teacher 6215 emily_genser@whps.org
English Cori Krause Teacher 6206 cori_krause@whps.org
English Hannah Marks-Hamilton- Long Term Sub: Nicholas Patenaude Teacher 6204 hannah_marks-hamilton@whps.org
English Tanya Kempf Teacher 6214 tanya_kempf@whps.org
English Kristina Ortiz Teacher 6276 kristina_ortiz@whps.org
English Ramona Piretti Teacher 6274 ramona_puchalskipiretti@whps.org
English TJ Rush Teacher 6252 tj_rush@whps.org
English Michael Stepensky Teacher 6203 michael_stepensky@whps.org
English Ashley Theroux Teacher 6278 ashley_theroux@whps.org
English Cindy Vranich Teacher 6201 cindy_vranich@whps.org

Courses Offered

Conard English Courses:
Transitional English – ESOL
English 9
Honors English 9
English 10
Honors English 10
World Literature
American Literature 
AP English: Language & Composition

Issue-Centered English
Women's Literature

Advanced Literature


Writing Lab


The Academic Resource Center provides an opportunity for students to receive extra help with writing papers.  The center is staffed by a certified English/Social Studies teacher each period of the day.  Students must obtain a pass from their subject teacher before the start of the school day in order to attend the writing resource center during a free period.
Back corner of the library
Hours: Period 1-8


West Hartford Public Schools

50 South Main St, West Hartford, CT  06107

T: 860-561-6600

F: 860-561-6910

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite